16 Week Appointment

Yesterday was my 16 week appointment.  Standard appointment (from what I’ve been told about appointments).  Pee in a cup, blood pressure and then a chat with the doctor about how I’m feeling, followed by listening to the heartbeat.  I love the heartbeat. 🙂  It was right around 145, which she said was great.  Then she measured my stomach/bump/uterus?  That’s when she decided that I was measuring too big for 16w3d. I had no idea what that meant.. maybe the RE shouldn’t have pushed my due date back four days?  The doctor told me that it usually means that there is extra amniotic fluid, which isn’t bad, but she wanted to do an ultrasound asap to check and see exactly what was causing it and have it documented.

Okay, no biggy.  So I went to check out and the lady saw the note and said “I’m going to see if they can get you in right now!”  Huh, uh oh! I thought maybe next week sometime.  So she goes to the back and finds out that they can fit me in soon.  So I go to the waiting room and text my husband like crazy.  I couldn’t bring myself to Google it.  I was surrounded by people in the waiting room and didn’t want to get emotional if I did read something bad.  Luckily my husband is awesome and he Googled and let me know that the few things that could cause it, aren’t serious. Whew!  I was still upset that he couldn’t be there, but I figured it would be a quick in and out and on my way.

Within about 20-25 minutes, I was called back.  Warm, gooey gel was applied (yay for gel warmers!) and then I asked “hey, is there anyway you might be able to tell what the sex is today?”  She said she thought there was… woooo!! I might be able to surprise my husband with something!!  Now I was super excited.

She checked the fluid and everything looked perfect.  She measured the baby and everything looked fine.  Then she checked my ovaries and they were good.  One small cyst on my left ovary, probably left over from the IVF stuff.  Nothing to worry about.  She said that everything looked great and the only thing that would have me measuring big is my long, skinny uterus.  haha  So, there you go.  My uterus is big.  It’s actually spread a little above my belly button, which she said is a little higher than normal for this far along.  Apparently it should be right at my belly button?  Eh, everything is fine so I don’t care how big my uterus is.

….and I got to find out the sex!!!!

It’s a….

 

It’s a…..

 

It’s a GIRL!! 🙂

My husband is so excited.  I love to see him like this.  We even started a list of names last night!  I am so glad we got to find out early, because we have TONS of stuff do to around the house before another person can live here!  Let the cleaning, purging and painting… BEGIN!!

 

A BABY GIRL!!

13 thoughts on “16 Week Appointment

  1. EEEEEEEEEEE!!!! CONGRATULATIONS! So excited to hear that news!! How fun! So glad you got to find out early (waiting until week 21 SUCKED!).
    I also remember at my 16 week appointment my doctor didn’t measure me but he felt on my stomach and my uterus was also measuring much bigger he said “whoah, big baby” but didn’t seem concerned. lol. I swear, even at 22 weeks I can feel her right below my boobs! I remember at the ultrasound I did last week, she was pointing that wand and said the baby’s head was like 4 inches above my belly button. crazy! Oh well, just must be weird shaped uterus too =P hah
    sorry they put you through the freak out, but it paid off to your advantage!!!
    GIRLS RULE BOYS DROOL! okay not really but it’s fun to say it 🙂

    • haha… yes, there are a lot of baby girls in my blog world. How exciting! My husband said he may have to block my internet access… girl stuff is so cute! 😉
      Our little one was still pretty low. I can’t wait to see what it feels like when she comes up and starts moving around (where I can feel it)!

  2. roadtofertility says:

    I am so happy for you!!!! It’s always encouraging to see someone who has made it past the other side of infertility! YAY for a baby girl!!

Leave a Reply

