7 weeks and a UTI?

I am officially 7 weeks today. Woo!  I am in serious need of a scan every day or two though… I need to see that little heartbeat to put my mind at ease.  Six more days until the next scan!

On another note, I think I may have a UTI.  Usually when I get a UTI I notice it, and about two hours later i’m in incredible pain and peeing blood.  This is different.  Once I pee and make sure I get every last drop out, I stand up and feel the stinging, immediate need to go again.  I know I don’t have anything left, so I go lay or sit down and I can still feel the stinging for a little while.  It’s not constant.  It only happens every now and then, so I figured it might just be something to do with the progesterone or the frequent need to pee. Today I was feeling it more often, so I emailed the doctor to see what he thinks.  It’s not causing me any pain and I’m not peeing blood, so I know it’s not to a dangerous place yet, if it is a UTI, but hopefully I can get in and get it checked out just to see.  I’m hoping it’s just something pregnancy related though.  I really don’t want to take any medication in my first trimester, even if it is considered safe.  What do you ladies think?  Anyone out there experienced this?  Anyone had a UTI and gone on medication?

5 thoughts on “7 weeks and a UTI?

  1. trufflelove says:

    my friends and I were just talking about this the other day. my friend, who is a pharmacist, said if the UTI is in the early stages, she drank a ton of water to flush things out and that worked for her and prevented her from having to take medication… bud i’d also check with your dr 🙂

  2. Congrats on your pregnancy! So encouraging to see good things happen to others who have struggled 🙂

    I’ve had a chronic UTI problem since I was a child and whenever I feel one coming on (like the symptoms you’re describing) I chug LOTS of water to flush it out and take OTC cranberry tablets. I don’t know if they are safe to take during pregnancy but it’s something to look into…they usually do the trick for me.

    I’m no expert on UTI’s and pregnancy, but I can tell you that my mom had them the ENTIRE time she was pregnant with me. Could’ve been pg related, or just a coincidence. Hope you get some relief soon!

Leave a Reply

