Let’s Chat About Progesterone…

So, I guess I am 1dp3dt?  Is that how people do that?  I’m going with it.  I don’t plan on doing that countdown thing everyday though.  I think it would make me more nervous for the up and coming results day.  Anyway…

(A little warning — this entry may contain too much information, but I feel it’s something others may be experiencing, so I’d like to put my information out there so maybe I can help others.)

The progesterone is out to kill me… I’m sure of it.  Along with oily skin, oily hair, bloating and moodiness… I have been super constipated.  Yesterday was day four and I was so miserable I could hardly stand it.  I was told during my transfer that along with Colace (which I had started Saturday morning — took 100mg twice daily) that I should drink a cup of prune juice, warmed in the microwave for 30 seconds.  I don’t mind prunes, so I said “WHATEVER IT TAKES!!”  I tried it, and it wasn’t bad.  I liked it warmed up.  I took my colace, I ate my pineapple (which should also help constipation, along with implantation) and still felt terrible.  Now, this is where it gets a little TMI.  I knew I had to go or I was going to just feel sicker and sicker.  My body health right now is so important that I knew I had to get something out.  Anything!  So I struggled a bit, and strained.  I was so worried about straining on the day of the transfer that I went Google crazy.  Luckily it says that shouldn’t affect anything, especially so early because nothing is attached, they are just sort of floating around in there, hopefully growing and developing before they latch on around day 3-5 after transfer.  Whew… good!  I was seriously freaking out.  It was necessary though.  I finally had some success last night before bed and I almost couldn’t get to sleep I was THAT excited.

So, why share all of this?  Because it’s important for others to know that this is a problem and you need to start early to take care of it.  Before you start progesterone, start drinking more water.  I know everyone says that, but it’s serious.  Also, maybe introduce prunes or prune juice into your diet earlier.  There are lists of foods that are high in fiber and can help prevent things like this online… go find them and eat some of them.  The hard part is making sure they are compatible with trying to get pregnant.  We all know pineapple can assist in implantation, but too much can hurt implantation.  So it’s a little tricky.

As for the oily skin and hair, the bloating and the moodiness.  I can live with that.  I can dance around with that all day, but I cannot NOT go.  I plan to stay on top of this problem.  Right now i’m eating Kale chips.  Kale is high in fiber — fiber yay!

I hope everyone out there is feeling healthy and happy and not suffering quite so much as me.  🙂

6 thoughts on “Let’s Chat About Progesterone…

  1. Exercise is absolutely great, get moving, walking and you are also right about lots of water… I have to get Lactulose syrup from my doctor and it is totally fine with pregnancy and honestly as my doctor says, it must come out some way, so just take the syrup .. as I am really all about keeping it natural and being careful … so have a chat with your doctor about it.. you have my sympathy constipation sucks and also they have this thing in New zealand called “Kiwi Crush” it comes in frozen sachets.. but google it and see if you can find a supplier or something similar near you as that is just mixed with water and honestly it is really really great… best of luck xx

  2. Sorry to hear the side effects get you, I know It’d be driving me crazy as well not being able to go. Hope you’ll find something that helps, SOON! 🙂 Luckily, those progesterone pessaries don’t give me any side effects other than that squishy uncomfortable dribbles – hope it’ll stay that way

    • I hope so too. The anesthesia started it and the progesterone just didn’t help at all. I’m hoping with a diet of prune juice every morning, kale chips in the afternoon and lots of water, that I can keep things moving along. 😉

  3. cedwards83 says:

    The tip I got was to take colace and drink half your body weight in ounces of water. I did that and it cleared up the progesterone plug. Yay poop!

    • I didn’t want to keep taking the Colace because then your body doesn’t remember how to soften it itself or something? So I have been drinking Prune juice and drinking LOTS of water and eating kale chips (for fiber). So far so good!

Leave a Reply

