Egg Retrieval, Itching, and A Big Thanks!

Today has been a big day for me.  I wanted to start by thanking everyone who has taken the time to read my blog and show your love and compassion for me and my husbands  journey.  I know we are all struggling with the same thing, so the fact that you’ve all taken time out of your days and lives to read about our struggle really means the world to me.  This blog has helped keep me sane(ish) over the past 3.5 months and it’s all because of all of you all!  Big thanks to everyone!  I hope to be able to keep showing you how much I appreciate you all by being supportive and helpful whenever you need me!  Much love for you all!

Today I also remembered why I hate hydrocodone.  It makes me itch.  All over.  All the time…. constantly… without stopping.  I’ve been trying to sleep ever since I got home.  I’m exhausted, but for some reason I can’t seem to fall all the way asleep.  I feel like I’m awake, but an hour seems to pass by like nothing.  Maybe I’m falling asleep a little?  Why doesn’t it feel like it?  Oh well, at least I get to lay around and rest.  I need it! *scratch scratch scratch*

So, the big part of my day was my egg retrieval.  The anesthesiologist today was amazing.  He was so nice and funny and helpful.  He put music on for me while we waited on the doctor and had a long discussion with me about ice cream, yogurt and smoothies.  He kept me very calm before a very big procedure, and I will be forever grateful.   So once the doctor came in (8:00 on the nose) the anesthesiologist immediately put in the meds to make me fall asleep.  Good thing I had a couple seconds (literally) before I actually fell asleep because no one told me not to lay on my gown, and apparently this was a big problem.  I had just enough time to yank the gown out from under me and get back into my butt-hanging-off-the-table position before I was out.  I awoke, kind of, about twenty minutes later.  Apparently we were having some conversations about the number of eggs retrieved and… other things? I guess?  So the total collected was 8!  I know it’s not a lot, and the odds are still not really in our favor… BUT… it’s one more than I had total on Tuesday… and the fact that they got them all out (plus the extra) was fantastic.  Now I am completely stressed out about finding out how many fertilized tomorrow.  I mean…. this is the most stressed out I’ve been so far.  I’m hoping to just sleep most of the time until the phone call tomorrow.

Will any fertilize?  If so, will it be a three-day or a five-day transfer?  Ah!  The waiting game is never ending! 🙂  I’m glad this part is over and that 8 were retrieved though! Yippy!

Now it’s time to get more rest and try to relax.  Nothing I can do from here.  It’s all up to the lab techs, eggs and spermies….. go go go guys!!!

10 thoughts on “Egg Retrieval, Itching, and A Big Thanks!

  1. 8 sounds good to me!! congratulations! All this time we’ve been stressing out over injections.. I guess they are nothing compared to the wait after this! Hope we’ll hear some good news soon 🙂

  2. 8 is great!! Congrats! I will keep you in my thoughts the next few days. Hoping those eggs become little embryos for ya!!!! Keep us all posted.

    Oh…and the half sleep thing is probably from the hydrocodone. I know for me, it wires me right up. While it makes most people sleepy, there are us few that can’t seem to fully fall asleep, yet time passes by very quickly.

Leave a Reply

