Preliminary Tests Tomorrow!

Tomorrow is our IVF consultation (#2 — our first consultation was over six months ago, so we have to do it again), saline ultrasound and mock transplant.  I decided to read up on both of them to see if there is anything I need to do tonight to prepare.  Looks like everything is pretty simple.  The saline ultrasound is to check to make sure there aren’t polyps, scar tissue, or anything else that could obstruct implantation.  The mock is to make the the right catheter is used for the distance into my uterus for when they transfer the embryos.  Neat!

The only thing that concerns me is that they say the saline is usually done at the beginning of the menstrual cycle.  Days 5-12 typically.  I’m not sure why that’s important, but I hope it’s not actually important because i’m at the end of this cycle (about day 22).  The lady who scheduled the appointment did not ask about where I was in the cycle, and my doctor only said to make sure that I was no longer bleeding when I came in for the appointments.  So I’m hoping the “early” thing is more of a suggestion and not the rule.  I’d hate to be postponed because someone forgot to ask the right questions!  The office I go to is usually really good about this sort of thing though, so I’m not too worried.  I guess it’s normal to be worried about every tiny thing at this point though?  Eh?

I’m also a little worried that the amount of medication I’ve been on recently might factor in somehow.  I’m on nasal spray, mucinex and alternating nights between Tylenol and Nyquil. I’ve only been dosing myself up for about four days though, so I imagine everything should be somewhat normal.  My mucus might be a little thinner down there from the mucinex.  Sexy.  *Wink*  I tried the mucinex thing when we were naturally trying to conceive. You know, thins your mucus to the guys don’t have to struggle to swim up stream so much?  I hear it’s very effective.  Too bad I didn’t know that mucus was the least of our problems.

I’m assuming the doctor will have me wait until after my next cycle anyway.  I’m not sure why I’m kind of freaking out about this right now.  It’ll be about 12 hours before I know exactly what is going to happen and when…. I’m just so antsy!

Leave a Reply

