Quitting All Of The Things

I am currently trying to get my body prepped for this fall.  I started by cutting out alcohol.  Not that I was a big drinker to begin with, but I’d have my nights every now and then. You know the ones where you wake up cursing yourself for thinking a bottle and a half of wine is something you can totally handle?  Now my goal is to quit caffeine.  So far it’s been two days since my last caffeine…. ah!  Sweet tea in restaurants, I will miss you most.

I’ve been wondering if there is anything else that should be cut out of my diet.  I am cutting the stress out of my life by quitting my job (woo!), but I wonder if there are more environmental things I can do.  I want to be at my best when we go in for IVF.  

I’ve heard people try to cut back on sugar.  I’m not sure that’s a possibility after cutting out caffeine though.  What keeps you awake?  Maybe they mean processed sugar, like cookies and little debbies?  I hope so, because I don’t eat a lot of that.  Ice cream is my weakness.  Mint Chocolate Chip to be precise.  Could I give that up? Should I give that up?

What have you heard you should do before IVF?  Any sort of exercises or special dieting?  Should I meditate?  Where does one go to learn to meditate?  Can you google that? I bet you can… Ah, yes. Howtomeditate.org. Of course!

I think I’ll get some ice cream and go take a bath. That is my kind of meditation.

One thought on “Quitting All Of The Things

  1. I cut out caffeine about 3 months ago. After the first few days it gets easier. I had a sip of a coke the other day and couldn’t believe how disgusting it tasted – hard to believe I used to have at least one a day! Hang in there – it gets better! (Though I don’t think I could ever give up sugar)

Leave a Reply

